Amatuer looking for confirmation

Help with identifying the species your ants

Moderator: ooper01

FatMug

Amatuer looking for confirmation

Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:29 pm

Hey everyone!

I am very new to this, but have been watching the AntsCanada videos for months! I was very lucky to catch, what I believe to be, a Camponotus pennsylvanicus queen. When I caught her she still had her wings, she has since, though, shed one set (still has a set of wings attached, though...) and has laid several eggs, a few of which have reached the larval stage. At this point, I'm really just looking for confirmation of the species, and maybe a little confirmation that I'm doing the right things, so far, heh. Thanks.

Pics: http://imgur.com/a/uDVgJ

Gregory2455

Re: Amatuer looking for confirmation

Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:28 pm

Shes a queen! She is a Camponotus alright!

Ants4fun

Tue Jul 28, 2015 1:09 am

But definately not pennsylvanicus. Where are you located?

antscanada
Main Forum Admin

Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:55 am

She may be a Camponotus noveboracensis or C. vicinus or some other related species. Great catch!

They take usually around 2 months to get from egg to worker. They tend to take awhile. Great work so far!

Mikey
Ant Love Forever.

Gregory2455

Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:00 am

AntsCanada wrote:She may be a Camponotus noveboracensis or C. vicinus or some other related species. Great catch!

They take usually around 2 months to get from egg to worker. They tend to take awhile. Great work so far!

Mikey
Not C.vicinus if this is from GA.

SweetDirtyTooth

Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:28 am

If the Queen is laying eggs and and they have already reached pupae stage and still has wings how does she survive? I though They needed to eat the wing muscles :?

FatMug

Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:40 am

@Ants4Fun I live in South East Georgia, USA. About 45 minutes north-west of Savannah, GA. I found her outside at a friend's house, she was on the mortar between bricks.