Are my queens suitable in this setup?

Show us your formicariums and ant setup, ask formicarium-related questions, or share your experiences with building an ant home. Here you will also find formicarium requirements for specific ant species.

Moderator: ooper01

Post Reply
MilesC
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:51 am
Location: St. Louis

Are my queens suitable in this setup?

Post: # 23287Post MilesC
Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:45 pm

Is this suitable housing for ~6mm queens? I just caught them and I'm not sure if I should transfer them to test tubes or not.
Image
Image

It consists of a small pill-case with a wet cottonball in the corner, and I'm mostly concerned about the humidity and heat. I have no way to heat my ants currently and we usually keep the house pretty cold. Any tips?

User avatar
Batspiderfish
Posts: 2122
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 3:47 pm
Location: Maine

Re: Are my queens suitable in this setup?

Post: # 23288Post Batspiderfish
Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:58 pm

Looks like it's going to be a huge pain in the butt compared to test tubes.
Links:
Rules & Requirements for Identification:
http://forum.AntsCanada.com/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=292

How to take pictures for identification:
http://forum.AntsCanada.com/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=2167

User avatar
Aquaexploder
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 5:55 am
Location: Rhode Island

Re: Are my queens suitable in this setup?

Post: # 23317Post Aquaexploder
Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:07 pm

Batspiderfish wrote:
Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:58 pm
Looks like it's going to be a huge pain in the butt compared to test tubes.
Agreed.
Founding:

Camponotus nearcticus (x1)

Prenolepis imparis (x3)

Myrmica (Unknown) (x1)

Tetramorium (x2)

xTNxANTMANx
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:03 am
Location: Western Tennessee

Re: Are my queens suitable in this setup?

Post: # 23362Post xTNxANTMANx
Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:13 pm

Yeah using a test tube would be way better because the cotton can hold water behind it and there would be a constant supply of moisture. Using it in the setup shown you would constantly have to open the top and rehydrate the cotton or some method like that.
Keeping:
Camponotus castaneus
Camponotus subbarbatus
Camponotus pennsylvanicus x3
Crematogaster cerasi x2
Formica pallidefulva x3
Formica subsericea x3
Pheidole sp. x4
Tapinoma sessile
Tetramorium caspitum x2

User avatar
Serafine
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:23 am
Location: Germany

Re: Are my queens suitable in this setup?

Post: # 23462Post Serafine
Fri Jun 23, 2017 6:03 am

It's gonna be a pain in the ass to keep these hydrated. Also I can't image the constant disturbance and the frequent changes in humidity to be any good for the queens and their brood. Just use test tubes, you can put them away and forget them for a month until they have first workers.
"We should respect all forms of consciousness. The body is just a vessel, a mere hull."

Join the Antkeeping Discord chat: https://discordapp.com/invite/ZXFTVzD

AntsOnTheCoast
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 4:01 am
Location: Endless void

Re: Are my queens suitable in this setup?

Post: # 27154Post AntsOnTheCoast
Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:21 am

Hope this isn't too late but it'll be hard to transfer them into a formicarium if there are several workers in the slots. It will be hard to just do anything to them in general, as the workers would most likely see it as a hostile action, and you're working with a small medicine container.

What are you doing right now? Did you move them into test tubes? I'm curious :D !!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest