I'm new! My introduction! And my Ants! Featuring Ponera Pennsylvannica!

Temporary placeholder

Moderators: ooper01, Trusted User

kykel09

I'm new! My introduction! And my Ants! Featuring Ponera Pennsylvannica!

Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:28 am

Hey everyone!

I'm Mykel from Maryland, USA. This is my first year in ant keeping. I've always dreamed of having my own ant farm since I was a kid but never really knew where to start. Came across AntsCanada back in July and started hunting for queens. I'm very fascinated with ants and have already caught several different species and lots of queens, most of which I'll be putting up for sale on the GAN once they produce their first workers (ninantics... not sure I have the word right). I'm keeping two for myself and my daughter is going to start a farm of her own as well.

This is what I've caught so far.
Phiedole Bicarinata x2
Lasius Neoniger x5 (Originally caught 3 more than this but they died)
Tetramorium sp E (originally two, one died)
Ponera Pensylvannica (My favorite though a challenge since she's semi-claustral.)
Solenopsis x2 (Unsure of species but both died)
Two of semi-claustral species (I think they were Lasius claviger or Umbratus but I wasn't able to confirm which. They both died before I realized they were semi-claustral, otherwise I would have simply let them go.)

I'm approaching this also from a semi-scientific approach as well. I've been keeping a running log of everything I do. I'm planning on keeping one of my Bicarinata as this was the original species that made me want my own ant farm as a kid, watching them out in my yard with their massive heads. I'm also planning on keeping my Ponera as well. Through the amount of care I've had to put in for her in the past month, I've become quite attached to her and she recently laid eggs (I counted 3 but it could have been more).