Ant colony that killed itself?

Temporary placeholder

Moderators: ooper01, Trusted User

huekshitsume

Ant colony that killed itself?

Tue Oct 11, 2016 5:53 am

I had a massive fire ant colony in my apartment building, they looked exactly like solenopsis geminata but I don't think they were one cuz their stings did hurt but not that much. The colony was about 13 years old and had populated all the cracks in the building. One of their main nest was in my house. I have even seen the queen twice. The wierd thing is that I am a science student and we need to keep the salt samples we do with us. I have been collecting salt samples on my study table since 2 years which btw is just in the room besides the room that has the main nest entrance. A few weeks ago I got the sample of aluminium nitrate. Within an hour of me getting it to the home, ants attacked it. I tried to defend it and changed its place and dropping all the ants back on the table so they go back. In less than 10 minutes I discovered that ants had started attacking it even when I had kept it in almost opposite end of the house, in a room where there is no nest entrance (that I know of) this happened for quite a while. I even kept the sample in an airtight container. By the next day, the ants had chewed through the container and taken all the salt. Within hours, the colony vanished! At least 200,000-300,000 ants throughout all the nests died. I highly suspect this is due to the fact that most forms of aluminium are unfit for consumption. But if this is the case then why did they ate it. I have other aluminium salts and other nitrate salts and they never attacked them. Even wierd was that they all died after running out of the nest. If this happened in one nest I would suspect something was wrong inside the nest but it happened in every nest. I also studied it carefully, there were 24 nest in my approach and everywhere this happened. Further strengthening suspicion is the fact the according to my friends that l