Ants in Idaho (USA)

Where and when are you finding queen ants? A section to share nuptial flight schedules by ant species and locality

Moderator: ooper01

BloodVulcan

Ants in Idaho (USA)

Sun Sep 24, 2017 10:21 am

So right now I have a successful camponotus colony and would like to start a second colony ( preferably prenelopis imparis if it's possible) but last nuptial flight season all I could find were camponotus ( 18 queens to be exact) and I would like to keep a new species. Does anyone know what ant species live in Idaho (USA) and when their nuptial flights are?

Thanks in advance! Ant Love Forever!
P.s. this is my first time using this forum so please correct me if I am doing anything wrong

Batspiderfish

Re: Ants in Idaho (USA)

Sun Sep 24, 2017 10:48 am

I'm not sure how easy it will be to find Prenolepis imparis in Idaho. They may not be present. I am able to find them in Maine even though AntMaps hasn't.

http://antmaps.org/?mode=species&species=Prenolepis.imparis
If you enjoy my expertise and identifications, please do not put wild populations at risk of disease by releasing pet colonies. We are responsible to give our pets the best care we can manage for the rest of their lives.

idahoantgirl

Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:58 pm

BloodVulcan wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 10:21 am
So right now I have a successful camponotus colony and would like to start a second colony ( preferably prenelopis imparis if it's possible) but last nuptial flight season all I could find were camponotus ( 18 queens to be exact) and I would like to keep a new species. Does anyone know what ant species live in Idaho (USA) and when their nuptial flights are?

Thanks in advance! Ant Love Forever!
P.s. this is my first time using this forum so please correct me if I am doing anything wrong
Sweet! more Idaho people! Yeah I'm not sure prenelopis imparis is around here :( But lucky you! Camponotus would be cool! Where I live it's nothing but tetramorium galore and a few lasius thrown in :? :(