Lasius flying near Toronto

Where and when are you finding queen ants? A section to share nuptial flight schedules by ant species and locality

Moderator: ooper01

MrThrasher

Lasius flying near Toronto

Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:43 pm

They are out in numbers right now. It looks like niger and/or neoniger and some social parasite which I believe may be lapites. If anyone's been looking now's a good time!

MaxGen

Re: Lasius flying near Toronto

Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:44 am

Thanks for this post. What's the best time of day to look?

Ants500

Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:37 am

MaxGen wrote:
Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:44 am
Thanks for this post. What's the best time of day to look?
I was wondering the same thing, because tetramorium fly early in the morning, and other queens, like temnothorax (acorn queens) fly around 5-6, so what time of day should I look for Lasius queens, by the way this is my first year so I definitely wanna catch a Lasius queen because of all the great things I've heard about them!
Founding:
-3 tetramorium queens
-1 Formica queen
-4 groups of acorn ant queens (they're polygenous)
Super excited to start this amazing hobby :D

MrThrasher

Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:32 pm

Hey there, sorry it's taken me so long to sign back in! Life's been busy and I had a lot of ants to see to.

On further inspection the species flying were L. flavus and L. lapites that night, not niger or neoniger. I just didn't get a good look at them until today as I didn't want to stress them.