C.penn queen filped over URGENT!!

Discussions about the care and keeping of ants

Moderator: ooper01

LukeTheGreat

C.penn queen filped over URGENT!!

Wed May 30, 2018 3:02 pm

My c penn colony of 9 has had there queen flipped and she doesn’t seem able to right herself, she just struggles

antnest8

Re: C.penn queen filped over URGENT!!

Thu May 31, 2018 2:21 pm

where is she?

if she in in a test tube you might need a different nest i have noticed some camponotus queens have trouble in the test tubes round structure.
Some of My Informative Sheets
https://forum.AntsCanada.com/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=19099
Includes :
  • Ant Care Sheets
    Queen Hunting
    How To Identify Ants
Goal is to become #2 poster on the forum

jhaltmeyer

Sat Jun 09, 2018 1:57 pm

I am new at ant keeping but I managed to find two Camponotus queens. The test tubes I ordered had not arrived when I had found the first one but came the next day so had them for the second. I put the first one in a plastic oval shaped toothbrush travel case with cotton limiting the space and she has three to four times the amount of eggs than the one in the round test tube. I don't know if that is the reason but after reading antnest8's reply I'm thinking the flattened bottom of the toothbrush holder may be helping. I for one, am relieved to know that the toothbrush case wasn't a terrible idea after all. (This is my first queen ant!)

AntsDakota

Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:00 pm

jhaltmeyer wrote:
Sat Jun 09, 2018 1:57 pm