New Camponotus

Discussions about the care and keeping of ants

Moderator: ooper01

Canadant

New Camponotus

Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:01 am

Hello forum members,

I'm new to this hobby. I consider myself a geek and with the raising of my daughter have rekindled my relationship with nature and all things creepy crawly. If only i had Google when i was a boy!

I have an omni nest on the way but I'm saving that for Tetramorium. In the meantime i have recently caught three Camponotus queens. They're all in test tubes and in the dark of my drawers. Just some questions for a new hobbyist. Hopefully some of you can help. I haven't raised queens so I'm not sure what to expect.

#1) All my queens have eggs now. However the eggs are a yellowish color. Is this to be expected? Like I said, I've never raised queens with they're young.

#2) All queens have about 8-9 eggs in a period of a week. I think this is good news?

#3) The queens have all piled their eggs and seem to hover over them. At times they will actually be fondling them gently in their mandibles. Seem normal? I would think so, but again, not sure.

#4) Is this not the most interesting hobby you've ever taken part in?

i live in Nova Scotia, Canada. I used to breed fish and shrimp in my aquarium. I have raised frogs from eggs and now this. i would like to thank Mikey for his passion. I came across his videos in the past 3 weeks. I would also like to thanks all of you forum members for being passionate and helpful as well. I will get a Camponotus hybrid nest for my current queens but there is no rush as they are slow growing. I will most likely have more questions in the future.

Thanks.

PS: Not sure of the exact species of camponotus but definitely camponotus.

Aquaexploder

Re: New Camponotus

Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:12 am

1) This is normal for most camponotus.
2) Also normal.
3) Completely​ normal.
4) One of the most unique and interesting, yes.