Camponotus sp about to eclose 1st nanotic

Frequently Asked Questions About Ants

Moderator: ooper01

martinnate
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 12:57 pm
Location: Abilene Tx

Re: Camponotus sp about to eclose 1st nanotic

Post: # 6732Post martinnate
Fri Jun 03, 2016 12:24 am

I need help!!!! I attached my Queen to a Test Tube Portal and she moved out of the test tube into the portal. I removed the cover I had on the test tube and there was a part of the cricket covered in cotton or maybe mold. I removed the dirty tube and replaced it with a clean one, now how do I get her to move into the new one?

User avatar
ooper01
Head Moderator
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 1:07 am
Location: Utah, USA
Contact:

Re: Camponotus sp about to eclose 1st nanotic

Post: # 6768Post ooper01
Fri Jun 03, 2016 3:57 pm

The Test Tube Portal must have been more desirable for her. You just need to make the new clean test tube more desirable. For starters, it has moisture so she may just move in as soon as she needs the moisture. One thing I like to do with my test tubes that are connected to Test Tube Portals is create little sleeves for them out of thick paper. This keeps it darker inside the test tube.
Image
Image
~ ooper

Forum Moderator
Image

martinnate
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 12:57 pm
Location: Abilene Tx

Re: Camponotus sp about to eclose 1st nanotic

Post: # 6835Post martinnate
Sat Jun 04, 2016 9:10 am

That is what I have done from day one lol I just cut a paper bag and taped it around the test tube. Since she is in the portal can I just attach the portal to the Omni nest and block off all but one chamber? and see if she will move in to it??

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest