Just caught an ant today- need help identifying

Questions from those who are just starting or considering getting into the ant keeping hobby. If you’re intimidated or confused by the in-depth posts of the other sections of this forum, feel free to post here, and we'll start from square one!

Moderator: ooper01

peppy210

Just caught an ant today- need help identifying

Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:23 am

I have this ant here and I am new to ant keeping so I have no idea what to look for in terms of identifying the species. I'm even unsure if it's a queen ant, so any guidance/help would be appreciated.
I already watched many videos about how to find/take care of a queen ant before I went out to find some. I would just like to have help from more experienced members of the community ^_^
I live in New Jersey, USA
Thank you in advance~

(Mods, I posted a similar question in the ants general forum, but I just saw this one for beginners- so I'm posting a similar post here. I'm sorry if this counts as cross posting)

PTasker15

Re: Just caught an ant today- need help identifying

Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:00 am

Lasius Umbratus Or Acantohostichus Sp.
*** SPAM ***.Try To Collect Some Pupae Of The Following
·Lasius Niger
·Lasius Neoniger
·Lasius Allienus
·Lasius Neararctus
Keeping ants for 6 years now.

Current Species: Camponotus pennsylvanicus, Camponotus decipiens,Camponotus snellingi Solenopsis invicta,Nylanderia sp,Brachmyrmex patagonicus,Pheidole obscurothorax,Pheidole moerens,Pachycondyla harpax

Batspiderfish

Re: Just caught an ant today- need help identifying

Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:56 pm

I agree with Lasius umbratus. They need more than pupae, though; these queens are generally incapable of opening cocoons.

http://www.formiculture.com/topic/3252-much-ado-about-the-founding-of-lasius-temporary-social-parasites/