Anybody got any tips on catching queens

Questions from those who are just starting or considering getting into the ant keeping hobby. If you’re intimidated or confused by the in-depth posts of the other sections of this forum, feel free to post here, and we'll start from square one!

Moderator: ooper01

xXxBlueGamerxXx

Anybody got any tips on catching queens

Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:28 pm

Over the summer I have been trying to find queen ants with out much luck. It is my first time ant keeping and I haven't been lucky in finding a queen. I have found a solenopsis invicta but I don't think she is fertile because she isn't taking care of her eggs. Also her eggs don't seem to be developing but it may be to soon to tell yet. Anyways I was hopeing that someone could give me some tips on finding some queen ants any advice would be appreciated.

AntLove5Ever

Re: Anybody got any tips on catching queens

Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:57 pm

xXxBlueGamerxXx wrote:
Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:28 pm
Over the summer I have been trying to find queen ants with out much luck. It is my first time ant keeping and I haven't been lucky in finding a queen. I have found a solenopsis invicta but I don't think she is fertile because she isn't taking care of her eggs. Also her eggs don't seem to be developing but it may be to soon to tell yet. Anyways I was hopeing that someone could give me some tips on finding some queen ants any advice would be appreciated.
All my queens have been found in or near pools and lights.

AdamKnapp

Sat Jul 15, 2017 10:25 pm