Newbie in ant keeping

Questions from those who are just starting or considering getting into the ant keeping hobby. If you’re intimidated or confused by the in-depth posts of the other sections of this forum, feel free to post here, and we'll start from square one!

Moderator: ooper01

firestorm11

Newbie in ant keeping

Fri May 26, 2017 5:39 pm

hello everyone, I am just getting into ant keeping and have watched almost every video out there on ants. I have lots of the stuff you need for ant keeping to (Formicarium, out world, test tubes, Ext.) Now all I need is a queen and I have dedicated a lot of my time to trying to find a queen ant. Every morning and afternoon I walk along the sidewalks trying to find a queen. I look for about an hour a day but have never found a queen.( it is mating season in my area) I live on the west coast of California near San Diego and look mainly for Tetramorium. Does anyone have any methods or any advice? What other places should I look?

Barfdog

Re: Newbie in ant keeping

Fri May 26, 2017 6:03 pm

firestorm11 wrote:
Fri May 26, 2017 5:39 pm
hello everyone, I am just getting into ant keeping and have watched almost every video out there on ants. I have lots of the stuff you need for ant keeping to (Formicarium, out world, test tubes, Ext.) Now all I need is a queen and I have dedicated a lot of my time to trying to find a queen ant. Every morning and afternoon I walk along the sidewalks trying to find a queen. I look for about an hour a day but have never found a queen.( it is mating season in my area) I live on the west coast of California near San Diego and look mainly for Tetramorium. Does anyone have any methods or any advice? What other places should I look?