My queen

Questions from those who are just starting or considering getting into the ant keeping hobby. If you’re intimidated or confused by the in-depth posts of the other sections of this forum, feel free to post here, and we'll start from square one!

Moderator: ooper01

xiCyro

My queen

Mon May 30, 2016 6:05 pm

OK so I live in Florida I'm 12 so please don't hate or whatever if I say something wrong I'm new to ant keeping I recently by recently I mean today I caught an ant its big it has a small faster and medium sized mandibles that go straight and look like siccors it is also black with orange legs and seems pretty calm in the testube setup please tell me what it is and if its fc or sc or parasitic

larynx

Re: My queen

Mon May 30, 2016 6:47 pm

you literally just described over half the ants on the planet.lol. here is a link to our ant species ID center. >>>http://forum.AntsCanada.com/viewforum.php?f=48

just read the "how to section" and such before posting, it will make it alot easier for you and anyone trying to ID your ant. :D
Forum Moderator
AntsCanada GAN Farmer

AntsRule

Mon May 30, 2016 6:53 pm

xiCyro wrote:OK so I live in Florida I'm 12 so please don't hate or whatever if I say something wrong I'm new to ant keeping
Welcome! Do not worry this is a very negative-free and friendly forum! :D Possibly a trap jaw ant but without, a clear picture, size in millimeters, and date caught there is no way to tell. :D
With all the things ants can do, you wonder, who rules the planet :?

Keeper of:
Camponotus Pennsylvanicus
Pheidole sp.

AntsRule

Mon May 30, 2016 6:55 pm

ARGG why am I so good at writing a post while someone is posting :lol: Double the info I guess :D
With all the things ants can do, you wonder, who rules the planet :?

Keeper of:
Camponotus Pennsylvanicus
Pheidole sp.

larynx

Mon May 30, 2016 6:59 pm

AntsRule wrote:ARGG why am I so good at writing a post while someone is posting :lol: Double the info I guess :D