Will's Camp. Pennslavanicus and Camp. Noveboracensis

Let us know of your ant colonies or queens that have passed away. We will grieve together but will also learn why your ants may not have succeeded.

Moderator: ooper01

WillWithAnts

Will's Camp. Pennslavanicus and Camp. Noveboracensis

Sun Aug 02, 2015 1:46 am

Hello everyone! This is my camponotus journal.

This is my first year of ant keeping (2015) and I'd like to share my findings so far. I hope you enjoy!

Camponotus Noveboracensis
The first queen I found was scuttling across my driveway. Although I had a test tube in my pocket, she was very fast and smart; she wouldn't willingly climb into my possession. I used to pick up ants when I was smaller by putting my hands together and making a corral with my thumbs and forefingers, like this. Then ant would eventually walk up on my hand.
I would've done that, but this was an ant species I've never seen before, she was slightly red, and she was huge (15mm) in comparison to the other ants that lived nearby. I wasn't about to test her weaponry. My brother brought me a bucket that we somehow managed to get her in and she calmed down enough for us to lead into the test tube setup I made. She was caught on the 16th of June. She now has 16 brood. She as had pupae for a couple of weeks now.

Here are some pictures of her today.
Guarding the entrance.

I think she is well on her way to a fruitful colony!

Camponotus Pennslyvanicus